Email: | Telephone: +44 (0) 141 574 5022

Please find below the key information about the conference.

Abstract Submission

Go to abstract submission

To allow enough time for authors interested in submitting a contribution to the international conference on phosphor thermometry 2018, the deadline for submission of the extended abstract of up to 4 pages using the extended abstract template has been extended to the 9th March, 2018. However, to provide an outlook of the number of contributions to the conference which further aids planning, authors interested in participating in the conference, who are yet to submit a contribution/extended abstract, can first send the title, authors names and affiliations, and a short abstract (no more than 300 words) of their proposed extended abstract by 14th February, 2018 to the conference email address ( This would then be followed by submission of their extended abstracts online through this website on or before 9th March, 2018. Authors will be notified of acceptance of their submission by the 30th March 2018 and invited to make a presentation of their work at the conference.

The organisers are particularly keen to encourage contributions from PhD students and new workers in the field and are happy to consider contributions in poster form. We request that those planning to submit a poster submit an abstract in the normal way indicating their preferred mode of presentation.

A book of abstracts will be published and selected contributors may be invited to prepare a full paper for inclusion in a special edition of Measurement, Science and Technology


Go to program page

The conference starts with training workshop on Wednesday, 25th July, 2018 targeted at new workers or students interested in the field of phosphor thermometry.

On Thursday 26th July and Friday, 27th July, 2018 respectively, keynote lectures, and oral and ⁄ or poster presentation sessions of contributed abstracts will be take place with breaks held in between for morning refreshments, lunch and afternoon refreshments.

Organising Committee

The ICPT-2018 Organising Committee is as follows:

  • Professor Andrew L Heyes, University of Strathclyde (Chair)
  • Professor Frank Beyrau, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg (Co-chair)
  • Dr Stephen W. Allison, Emerging Measurements
  • Dr Gavin Sutton, National Physical Laboratory
  • Professor Graham Machin, National Physical Laboratory
  • Professor Benoît Fond, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
  • Dr Christopher Abram, Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
  • Dr Anthony Ojo, University of Strathclyde